2017 Knoxville Raceway Hall of Fame Inductees Announced!

2017 Knoxville Raceway Hall of Fame Inductees Announced!
2017 Hall of Fame
Monday, June 12, 2017
by Eric Arnold, Track Historian

The Knoxville Raceway Hall of Fame Class of 2017 inductees have been announced by our Hall of Fame Committee! Those being inducted at our ceremonies to be held on June 24th will be Danny Lasoski (Driver), Jeff Woodruff (Crew Chief & Owner), Craig Johnson (Track Official), and posthumously Jim Roush (Official and Fair Board Member).

Danny Lasoski has 111 career feature wins at Knoxville, four Knoxville Nationals wins, and eleven track championships! The most decorated driver in Knoxville Raceway history will become the first active driver to be honored.

Jeff Woodruff has been a long-time crew chief and car owner at times. He has won 50 features at Knoxville with notable drivers Mike Chadd, Randy Smith, Skip Jackson, and Billy Alley. He has won five 410 track championships and one 360 championship.

Craig Johnson was a track official for approximately 35 years and was most notably seen on the front stretch for the longest period of time helping with the time trials lineup order. Both of his parents Boge & Anita Johnson have been inducted as well as his brother Gary.

Jim Roush was active around the Knoxville Raceway for over 40 years in a variety of capacities ranging from track official, push truck driver, safety crew, and as a member of the Marion County Fair Association volunteering his time for several projects to help improve the facility.

The annual induction banquet will be held at Noon, Saturday June 24th, in Dyer-Hudson for all current Hall of Fame members and guests with a picnic style lunch served at a cost of $5 per person. Call the ticket office to order tickets at 641-842-5431!