Wednesday, January 29, 2014
American Drivers Now Qualified to Race in 2014 SPEED SPORT Knoxville World Challenge

The SPEED SPORT Knoxville World Challenge has evolved into a major event at the Knoxville Nationals with the winner now having the opportunity to earn a starting position into the Nationals championship A-Main. “Uniting Nations Through Motorsports” is our new theme for the World Challenge, and any American driver who competes in The Classic earns a spot in the World Challenge event. 21 American drivers competed in the Classic this year, and 3 drivers competed at the qualifier in New Zealand in December.

The following 23 American drivers are eligible for the 2014 World Challenge: Sammy Swindell and Jonathan Allard (via New Zealand qualifier), Donny Schatz (Via NZ and AU), and from “The Classic” include Tim Kaeding, Jason Meyers, Paul McMahan, Daryn Pittman, Terry McCarl, Randy Hannagan, Dale Blaney, Bud Kaeding, Jason Sides, Justin Henderson, Brad Sweet, David Gravel, Kevin Swindell, Shane Stewart, Danny Smith, Trey Starks, Geoff Ensign, Kody Kinser, Kyle Hirst and Tyler Courtney.

Drivers from other countries are eligible to race in the World Challenge after they have registered and compete in their qualifying night of the Knoxville Nationals.

The 2014 SPEED SPORT World Challenge will be held on August 8, 2014 during the 54th Annual FVP Knoxville Nationals, Presented by Casey’s General Stores. This could be a record field depending on how many international competitors come to Knoxville in August. Special thanks to Oval Express Magazine for their support of the Australian vs American Challenge Cup Events this past week at Premier Speedway.

Tickets are on sale now for the Knoxville Raceway season including the 54th Annual FVP Knoxville Nationals presented by Casey’s General Store. Fans are urged to visit or call the Ticket Office at 641-842-5431.